.

Arlington Schools Students Seek 'Book Buddies'

Book buddies are needed for Arlington students.

Arlington Public Schools students need book buddies for the school year.

Buddies meet with first- and second-grade students for 30 to 45 minutes twice a week with the aim on helping children learn to read.

They also help in finding books for the child’s reading level, playing games and introducing new books.

Hours depend on the schedule of the volunteer. To participate, contact the coordinator at one of the Arlington schools below.

Schools

Book Buddies Coordinators

Email

Abingdon

Beth Sanderson or Andrea Leidolf

beth.sanderson@apsva.us

andrea.leidolf@apsva.us 

Ashlawn

Allison Gordon

allison.gordon@apsva.us

Barcroft

Beth Sanderson or Andrea Leidolf

beth.sanderson@apsva.us

andrea.leidolf@apsva.us 

Barrett

Carlin Schwartz

carlin.schwartz@apsva.us

Campbell

Beth Sanderson or Andrea Leidolf

beth.sanderson@apsva.us

andea.leidolf@apsva.us 

Carlin Springs

Beth Sanderson or Andrea Leidolf

beth.sanderson@apsva.us

andrea.leidolf@apsva.us  

Drew Model

Sarah Chambers

sarah.chambers@apsva.us

Henry

Beth Sanderson or Andrea Leidolf

beth.sanderson@apsva.us

andrea.leidolf@apsva.us 

Hoffman-Boston

Sharon Stutzman

sharon.stutzman@apsva.us

Nottingham

Beth Sanderson or Andrea Leidolf

beth.sanderson@apsva.us

andrea.leidolf@apsva.us 

Oakridge

Beth Sanderson or Andrea Leidolf

beth.sanderson@apsva.us

andrea.leidolf@apsva.us 

Randolph

Carlin Schwartz

carlin.schwartz@apsva.us

For more information, contact the school system's volunteer and partnership coordinator, Dawn Willard, at 703-228-2581.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »